RSS Feed

The last 18 hours of my life…. a recipe

Posted on

Take one freshly bathed baby, infected with horrible gastro bug to induce vomiting. Allow vomit  to cover baby, you, the couch, the carpet. Shower yourself and baby. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat, but this time replace couch with bed. Repeat. Take 355 clean towels and make sure each one cops some vomit, requiring it to be washed. Spend night trying to comfort baby who wakes every ten minutes in obvious discomfort.

Seriously, once you try this recipe you will never want to sample it again.

Two things can be gleaned from this adventure:

  1. There is nothing more distressing than a really sick baby (thank Toejam the vomiting appears to have stopped).
  2. You can never have too much in the way of  linen, towels or pyjamas.
8 responses

  1. Oh no! I hope that baby is better soon!

    Leslie’s last blog post… I Appreciate The Gesture, But You’re Kind Of Weird And I Don’t Trust You

  2. There is NOTHING more distressing. Glad it’s almost over for you. My little guy had a medical thing & vomited –usually more than once– every single day from about 3 months to about 18 months. I know what you mean about linens, towels and pyjamas. I really do.

    Kat’s last blog post… Because nobody is suffering from a deficiency in pharmeceutical drugs…

  3. Oh yeah there is never enough linen once you have children.

    When we got married my mother in law told me we needed 3 sets of everything, one for on the bed, or hanging in the bathroom etc, one for in the wash and one for hanging on the line drying.

    Then we had our first child and she came around with double of everything because now we had children the rules had changed :eek:

    Hope the vomits go away.

  4. nightmare. At least once they reach two they can sort of aim for a bowl. poor little thing and poor you.

    Homeofficemum’s last blog post… Thought for the day…

  5. Aah! Guess what I spent the day doing? Worse for a baby, obviously, but still not so much fun for me. Hope the little one is better now.

    tinsenpup’s last blog post… Tinsel Regurgitation

  6. Ewwww poor you and poor baby

    Suzie’s last blog post… The Meatloaf From Hell

  7. God, that’s awful. When we run out of bed linen I use towels. It’s patchwork hell. Then in the good times Jason always complains we have too much bedlinen. He has a short memory.

  8. Oh honey, I’m so sorry. How awful.
    I hope babe feels better very soon.

    Sherendipity’s last blog post… You wish you were as creative as me.

