RSS Feed

A sleepless haiku

Posted on

Leslie, at My Mommy’s Place is having a contest. It’s her Haiku Buckaroo Contest. I have been trying to think of a topic suitable to write a haiku about. I have tried and tried but nothing funny, nothing entertaining, nothing lighthearted, has been coming to mind.

Then I realised, I have the perfect subject matter. My lack of sleep.  I am tired, so it may not make much sense, but it will be haiku. I’ll just keep muttering, 5, 7, 5…5, 7, 5.

Golden light streams in
Kids are stirring already
Crap, I need more sleep

But then I thought, that seems a bit depressing. Life is not that bad, just because you’re a bit tired. 5, 7, 5. I can rustle up something a bit more cheery than that:

Lying here awake
Her soft breathing makes me smile
Oh crud I’m so tired

Okay, so maybe not that much more cheerful, a little bit though, yes?

I think I’m gonna have to admit defeat on this one. Haiku, it seems, is not my greatest strength. You should all go and check out the contest and enter though because Leslie is cool and her blog is ace keen.

6 responses

  1. Well they amused me :-D

    bevchen’s last blog post… Other people’s children

  2. LOL! Like all the best literature, they poke at the very heart of the human experience.

    tinsenpup’s last blog post… Smoke Haze Sunset

  3. Yay! I’m so glad you entered!

    And tired is funny. If you’re like me, EVERYTHING is funny when you’re tired.

    Leslie’s last blog post… No Pain, No Gain. Right?

