RSS Feed

I am all grown up and stuff

Posted on

So it was playgroup again today.  Pudding and I took Beefcake and Grub with us as the cuteness known as Grub was feeling better.

It was a lovely sunny day of about 20 degrees here today, which felt positively balmy compared to the freezy, frozenness we have been enduring in the last little bit. I am exaggerating of course. We have no real frozenness in Adelaide, sometimes in the hills but not actually in Adelaide. I am just a wuss. I am not a fan of the wintery coldness and do not cope well with the cooler weather over Autumn and Winter. I had to force myself not to hide inside for our entire time in the UK. I would have liked to stay inside wearing a hot water bottle suit, huddling under a doona/radiator tent arrangement. Anyway, I prefer the warmth.

Where was I? Ah yes, playgroup.

Playgroup was lovely today. I chatted to the other mothers. I would have made you all proud. Interestingly, Beefcake had an idea as to why I feel so very uncomfortable amongst other mothers. He thinks that my experiences as a very young mother to Rhubarb (I was only 18) have made me anxious around other Mums even though I am now a similar age to many of the Mums that I meet. I feel like a misfit still, despite no longer being one. I think he may be right, at least it’s an alternative theory to the one I’ve been running with –  “all other mothers are nasty moles”. Right, distracted from my point again, this is becoming a terrible habit.

Foot in mouth prompting Mummy – hmmm, FIMPM, that’s not a very good blog-name for someone, I will have to rethink that moniker. Anyway, FIMPM was there and she was very nice and we chatted and she didn’t appear to think I was horrible and boring at all. I am all chest puffy outy and air punchy that I have made a new friend. Yes, I am five.

It’s not just the making a new friend thing. I love that we have found a playgroup we love. We all love it, so much that I wish we had thought of going there earlier. I feel a bit ashamed to say that my own experiences of playgroups and things with the older children made me wary of trying this playgroup sooner. It is just nice to have a kid related activity that I won’t have to force myself to attend each week. I actually enjoy it and that’s pretty cool.

After 13 years, maybe I am beginning to get the hang of  at least this  aspect of the Mummy thing, hey? Yeah, probably not.

8 responses

  1. yeah for a successful playgroup! so good that you found one you like. isn’t it weird, as women, how we get all caught up in how people think about us–as in worrying what people think about the fact you had a kid when you were 18? i have a friend like that and honestly i don’t ever think about it. i know her kids are older than mine but it doesn’t really matter. i certainly don’t think any less of her for it. don’t worry! be happy : ) sorry–cheesy, but true.

    creativekerfuffle’s last blog post… i don’t understand

  2. I’m glad it went well! You’re a very nice little girl to play so well with your friends! (Laughing with you, not at you!)

    badness jones’s last blog post… More Happy

  3. I’m pretty impressed that you were able to raise a functional child when you were 18 – and you’re still doing it now. As someone who couldn’t comprehend ever being willing to sacrifice so much for the sake of a child, and who now realises how right I was to wait until I was really old to have a kid, I say hats off to you!

    You must have been a pretty awesome 18 year old :)

    Lara’s last blog post… Why breastfeed?

  4. Yay, congrats on the new friend! I’m getting to know some other mothers and I’m finding they are quickly becoming some of my best friends. I hope you can find someone to be close to as well.

    HeatherPride’s last blog post… Yep. I Opened this Can of Worms

  5. Aww, yay. I’m glad you’ve made a friend.

    bevchen’s last blog post… The perils of living alone

  6. I’m so glad you’ve found a place you love! I recently did the same thing and it’s so nice when it’s easy and comfortable, isn’t it?

  7. I don’t usually like any sort of playgroup kind of thing…because I’m a social phobe to the highest degree. I did finally find a nice one when Wynnie was about 18 months and we had a good time. I tried taking Mack this past spring, but for whatever reason, every minute we were there he was on the verge of becoming That Screaming Kid… so we stopped going. I was a bit bummed out because I actually liked the other moms.

    My neighbor was 15 when she had her first baby, 22 when she had her 2nd. The older just turned 13. Although I was more than twice her age when I had my first, I am forever picking her brain about parenting. I feel a little idiotic, but she’s done so well and I really appreciate her 13 years’ experience.

    Hyphen Mama’s last blog post… There’s no place like home….

  8. 18?? wow, in some parts, you would be considered old for waiting THAT long. I went with a friend to get her hair done for her wedding a couple years ago, and we were talking with the hairdresser about how they had just done prom do’s for a bunch of girls. And all of them that were there at a given point were all pregnant. Apparently that was the accessory to have at that year’s prom.

    And when I was taking the kids to public health, I felt like an old lady. To get the kids to see the nurse was practically impossible, cuz it was all these teenage moms talking about how scared they were to give birth. I felt really out of place, cuz it was like I was the only working mom there.

    It sucks to not feel like you belong, so I’m glad you finally got a place where you don’t feel that way. Good for you!

    Antoinette Meaterson’s last blog post… Random Tuesday Thoughts

