RSS Feed

….And I'm spent.

Posted on

Whatever you do, do not attempt to put together an Swedish kitchen with your husband unless everything is going well in the marriage. If we didn’t like each other a lot it could have been all over.

There has been a fair bit of swearing and frustration and bickering about which way something is supposed to go. My hands are swollen and sore from having a screwdriver in them for the past four days straight (let’s not even talk about the pelvis), I haven’t been getting much sleep but I do have a few splinters .

We have been hardcore kitchen building.

But I’m actually pretty impressed with us. For the most part we worked harmoniously as a team. We didn’t fuck anything major up. Beefcake only threw a few tantys and I remained hysterical calm and serene throughout the process.

We did a pretty good job and today I have finally unpacked most of the boxes that go into our kitchen. It is not completely finished. We must tile above the benches, we must finish off a couple of other things but we have a usable kitchen and dishwasher. I can feed my family something other than toast and I do not have to wash their dirty dishes. Such joy.

And it is beautiful. I will post pictures tomorrow hopefully but for now I am just totally exhausted. I deserve some internet time and a cup of tea, I think.

7 responses

  1. HA!! Do I hear you here…We almost got divorced in the putting together of our crib for our beloved first born child. We do not work well together.

    Antoinette Meaterson’s last blog post… Alright alright…

  2. I can’t wait to see pics! you do deserve a rest and yeah for surviving w/ you marriage in tact!

    creativekerfuffle’s last blog post… end of the innocence

  3. Nothing wrong with toast. I would be perfectly happy to live on the stuff ;-)

    bevchen’s last blog post… Why I get on better with people I’ve never actually met

  4. What an achievement! Can’t wait to see the pics!

    xoxoxo

    Fe’s last blog post… I’m so nervous….

  5. Yeah, I don’t think I’ve ever known love like that. :) I would either have to do it completely alone or walk away. Far away. Maybe another state. And I would turn my phone off. Just in case.

    tinsenpup’s last blog post… Larger and More Cumbersome

  6. Funny how projects like building a kitchen can bring out the worst in a marriage. I’ve sworn in the past that I’d divorce my husband if I ever do another project with him. Unfortunately, our house has a few more rooms that MUST be done, so we’ll tip-toe our way through those hoping for no major marriage destruction.

    Can’t wait to see the pics.

    Hyphen Mama’s last blog post… Macky the Dismantler

  7. You have an indestructible marriage and hopefully a gorgeous kitchen which I am itching to see.

