RSS Feed

My spellchecker doesn't work. Does anyone know how to fix it? Also, should I update wordpress? I am afraid of doing it and can't decide.

Posted on

I am sure that blog worthy things have been happening in our lives. I am sure I should be writing them down but I seem to have lost the part of my brain with a little light bulb that turns on when something happens and sends forth the thought “I should blog that”. I am not sure where I have put it. There is a significant pile of washing in the laundry* and it may well be at the bottom of that. Alternatively it could be in the car, where we seem to accumulate bags and bags of rubbish and jumpers and half-eaten apples, it could be there.

Anyway, until I do find it. Here are some interesting bullet points related to things:

  • We put up the very lovely acrylic splash back that looks exactly like glass but is not. We did it ourselves, we did. It looks good. The kitchen is nearly finished now and just needs a coat of paint. Most importantly a coat of lovely black paint to the frame of the very special and important  most favourite window. I will post spectacular unveiling of the kitchen photos when we get around to it.
  • Slightly related to the above point is the fact that the rangehood is up. It is not connected to electricity yet and it does not have a flue going into the ceiling and is therefore non-operational in every way meaning I must open the windows every time I cook but it is up.
  • Also slightly related, the oven is being connected to electricity tomorrow, slightly later than expected. I shall season the oven and then I shall bake and bake and bake until we are wallowing in cake. Doesn’t that sound lovely? Wallowing in a room full of assorted cakes? I thought so too.
  • I’m not sure if I have mentioned this but I can’t be bothered to check so: There is not enough electricity. What I mean is, we have an ancient electricity connection. It has never been upgraded so there is literally not enough electricity coming into the house. Not enough, that is, to run the oven and any other major appliance at the same time. Not enough. The old meter is very quaint and cute. The very colourful previous owners of the house considered it the guardian of the house and as an artist, the female of the couple had even painted it’s portrait, yes they were totally normal. It is going to cost us thousands of dollars unless an electrician will agree to be paid in cake, which I may have some trouble providing if the electricity is not upgraded. Hmmm.
  • Pudding threw a coaster at Grub. It hit her cheek just below her eye. It split the flesh open and she has  a bloody scab on her face. I am very glad it did not hit a fraction higher. She really would have lost an eye. He was so distressed by our displeasure that he became hysterical and claimed that the dog had thrown the coaster. This is despite the fact that I was in the room and witnessed the whole thing. He is not good with taking responsibility for his actions.
  • We took Grub and Pudding to the museum today as the older two are with their father. Pudding was chasing pidgeons in the grounds, being actively encouraged by Beefcake. I was very tut-tutty, as is my way, and Beefcake was all disagreey, as is his. This went on until I saw a young girl, no older than Pudding and dressed in a very pretty pinafore, race past and kick out at the pidgeons yelling at top volume fucking pidgeons, fuck. I decided Pudding could do worse than run at the pidgeons and left him to it.
  • Beefcake has fallen asleep on the couch and I am now going to wake him up by flicking water at him because that’s just the kind of wife I am.

The end.

*Not sure if I have mentioned this before but, hah! It is not, in the strictest sense of the word a traditional kind of laundry. That is to say, it is a laundry. It is the original laundry for the house, which was built in 1895 (not sure when the laundry was built, probably not then but not long after either). It is a corrugated iron outbuilding, which the previous owners disconnected from the water supply and sewer. The plumber has connected a cold water supply for my washing machine but there is still no sewer so the washing machine drains into a large plastic tub, which we then empty with buckets. Good for arm strength. Arses for my pelvis. Also full of Beefcakes tools and a chest freezer (and redback spiders).

15 responses

  1. – oooh, the kitchen sounds devine, I can’t wait to see the pictures. I haven’t ever heard of acrylic splashbacks but I like the sound of them, last year our glass splashback shattered for no reason other than to piss me off!
    – we have a power restriction going to our garage. Apparently running a fridge/freezer, plasma, wii and a heater is too much for a garage.
    – I am clearly no electrician but if you want to pay me in cake I am more than happy to oblige.
    – poor Grub, I hope there are no permanent scars. Pudding needs to work on more realistic excuses!
    – the laundry sounds challenging, at least you have a forced grey water recycling plan, I don’t think that I would be able to help with the watering, I don’t do spiders!

    That’s it for me and bullet post comments today.

    del’s last blog post… Three’s a Crowd

    • It’s lovely. The acrylic thingy is fab. We have already had a few people come around and get the details when they saw it because they were so impressed. I think paying by cake should always be an option.

  2. Sounds like it’s been a hectic sort of week for you.

    Veronica’s last blog post… Tired and Sad

  3. Mmmm…Cake-wallowing… I like the way you think. It’s probably best I don’t try to cook cake for myself right now. With the run of dumb luck/ill health/incredible clumsiness I’ve been having, I’d only end up accidentally baking my head. :(

    tinsenpup’s last blog post… The One I Know I Shouldn’t Write

    • Yes, you must not go near anything sharp or hot, that finger looked so painful! I will think of you while I fall into a carb-induced coma.

  4. I’ve heard of not having enough water in a house, but running out of electricity is a new one for me. Sounds horrible. And stressful. Although the cake bit sounds good.

    Am very excited to see more kitchen pics. Am living vicariously through your diy.

    • Photos are coming. Trying to get Beefy to put last finishing touches on first. I had never heard of it either. Apparently not that uncommon in older houses here.

  5. Can’t wait to see the kitchen.

    Am now trying to imagine how a dog could throw a coaster.

    bevchen’s last blog post… Unnecessary interview nerves

  6. i am sooo excited to see the renovated kitchen! omg. and the electricity dilemma would freak me the hell out. i would love to wallow in cake though. too bad cake isn’t an acceptable form of currency. dammit.

    creativekerfuffle’s last blog post… it’s july

    • I was quite upset when we first realised about the electricity but I am optimistic it’ll be ok now. Fingers crossed.

  7. Oh dear… I had that problem with the electricity in the last house that I owned.

    I avoided upgrading it… was terribly careful about not turning on the telly when the oven was on etc… became best friends with the ancient fuse box…. until one day it decided to expire on me by starting a fire in my roofspace.

    Seriously.

    It cost a lot more to replace the insulation etc AND upgrade the electricity. Do it now. Trust me.

    Oh… and I’m trying to get the courage to move from blogspot to wordpress. I feel like a ludite. It’s overwhelming. Perhaps I should drive to Adelaide and you could help me? xoxoxox

    Fe’s last blog post… Perspective…

    • Yes, we are in the process of getting a heap of quotes for the electricity. Beefcake thinks we might manage but I am adamant it must be done. I would be happy to help with WP if you came to Adelaide! :)

  8. UGH… our house was built in 1976 and we STILL didn’t have enough electricity. We had to pay to have ours upgraded a few years ago so we could add a few more lights to our basement. Totally worth it!

    And now I’m aching for cake!!

    Hyphen Mama’s last blog post… Thank Gawd for Small Favors

