RSS Feed

Now you are four

Posted on

Today dear Pudding, you are four.

Wait, did I just say four? I can’t quite believe that.

Four means big things my darling. It means moving up to the “big group” for your swimming lessons, something which you are incredibly proud of.

Four means that we have entered the year that you will begin kindy. You will begin to be away from us for the first time. Four is the first year that we are not your whole world. These are big things, little one. I don’t know if we are ready for this, your Dad and I.

Four is about you finding out that you will be fine somewhere without us. That you can make friends on your own. You can have fun, you can unleash yourself onto the world.

I am both thrilled and frightened for you. Thrilled that you are my big boy now, you are growing and doing and being in so many wonderful ways. Frightened that your spirit might be cracked or crumpled in some small way. I’m terrified I might not be there to prevent that, no,  I know that I can’t prevent that.

You are such a remarkable, magically shiny creature, my son. I revel in all of your energy and shout and bounce.

You are sweet and caring and loving in ways that continually surprise me.

It has been a hard year for you. Learning to share your Mummy and Daddy with a new little person. I understand that it has been rough at times but we really mean it when we say you are the best and most loving of big brothers.

I’m so proud of you boy.

Love Mummy.

img_2886

img_2879

6 responses

  1. Happy birthday Pudding. I know that 4 was a fun year around here, I hope that it is a fun year for you too.
    .-= del´s last blog ..The Day is Getting Better =-.

  2. Awww, Happy Birthday Pudding!
    He was born exactly a year after one of my cousins – she’s five today :-)
    .-= bevchen´s last blog ..In which I discover that I am an idiot =-.

  3. Happy Birthday!!
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..Got Nothing =-.

  4. ali this is such a sweet tribute to pudding. i hope he had a great birthday.
    .-= creativekerfuffle´s last blog ..it’s thursday….whoopee =-.

  5. Happy (Belated) Birthday Pudding!

    These little milestones are sometimes harder on Mummy than on the little one. Mostly because we know the perils they will face.
    .-= Hyphen Mama´s last blog ..Sex, Drugs and Rock & Roll =-.

  6. Happy (belated) birthday to your Pudding. What a cutie. I know that all you said about fourness is right and they do start to grow up, but seriously he IS STILL ALL YOURS AT 4!!! Four is one of my favourite ages they are helpful and funny and learning so much and loving and hilarious.

    You are going to be as bad as I was when that boy starts school, aren’t you?
    .-= Stomper Girl´s last blog ..The family fridge gets a make-over. =-.

