RSS Feed

I'm alive!!!

Posted on

Well that was a long break.

I haven’t been on my computer much in the last couple of weeks.

I have been feeling quiet and insular. Wanting to hide from everyone in the real world and on the internets, cos, you know, that helps.

I am still largely in the midst of a not good period. It is still messing with my mind. Given that no solution appears to be forthcoming, I have decided that we shall ignore it. Good? I thought so.

Much has been happening in the land of the callapipper.

Grub was getting too dangerous to stay in her cot. She almost never used it anyway but such a climby bubba is she that we were terrified she would climb out of it one day very soon as  Pudding began climbing out of it at much the same age. Luckily it is a cot that converts into a quite low to the ground bed. We have put a small side onto it so that she can’t just fall out and she is now the proud owner of  a “big girl bed”. At fourteen and a half months. It seems ridiculously young but she is honestly far safer this way. Also, she actually seems keen to sleep in this new bed so that’s a boon.

In other Grub-related news she has also been cutting her first four molars. All at once.Yes, in case you were thinking of asking, that is as fun as it sounds. She has been a delight, poor little poppet. It wierdly seems to have given her some sort of cognitive hypercharge though and she has been learning new words at a rate of knots. My favourite of her most recent batch of things to say is the word “cool”. There is nothing more hilarious than her picking up some much desired bit of fluff and labeling it “cool”.

We went to the Royal Adelaide Show on Friday. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the show, it is like a fair with rides and money sapping treats to buy for the children as well as a large array of farm animals. Grub surprised us a all with her knowledge of baby animals, making loud moos as she neared the calves. Unfortunately, she also felt that the geese, pigs and sheep said “moo”. I’m pretty sure that the wombat had a good go at it too. Oh well, she did try.

Rhubarb invited three of his friends to join us and we left the four thirteen year old boys to wander around on their own. They spent all of their money on pointless and irritating whistles (that go inside your mouth -revoulting) and oversized novelty glasses. Sadly we kept  crossing paths with them as they giggled their way around the showgrounds annoying the other patrons.

It was a rather busy day on Friday actually as Rhubarb had the schools Spring rowing camp to go to on Friday evening. We had to drive him to Walker Flat, which is about 2 hours drive from Adelaide. We were completely shattered by the time we came home, but in a good way.

Poss has today and tomorrow off of school as it is inconceivable that anyone should have to miss out on going to the show. They give the kids two days off to enjoy it. She managed to help the small children make more mess in the house than I would have thought possible. Let it never be said that she doesn’t help out.

Finally, I had intended to blog a Happy Father’s Day to my darling husband yesterday. You are an excellent father. Our children are very lucky to have you. You so owe me on Mother’s Day.

P.S. I am so sorry I have not been visitng people and commenting. I will do my utmost to catch up but if I don’t, because I suck, just bear with me, k? I will at the very least comment on most recent happenings. How’s that?

6 responses

  1. creativekerfuffle

    welcome back. don’t worry–we all go through a spell when we don’t feel like blogging or reading or connecting. it happens sometimes.

  2. Welcome back!

    It’s not show time here until late October and I’m seriously thinking about giving it a miss. At least until it’s upon us and I get that ‘I want to go to the show’ feeling.
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..On this day =-.

  3. “I have been feeling quiet and insular.”

    I have been feeling precisely the same, except in more of a calm, contented, these pregnancy hormones are better than drugs kind of way rather than the far suckier “not good period” kind of way. I’m a great believer that the ignore it strategy is often highly under-rated, but be good to yourself and keep an eye on things while you’re at it, eh?
    .-= tinsenpup´s last blog ..The One I Know I Shouldn’t Write =-.

  4. Glad to see you are back. I too follow the ‘ignore it and it may hopefully, possibly go away’. I hope that is the case for you and the wobbly pelvis of doom.
    .-= del´s last blog ..How to Host a Baby Shower =-.

  5. Glad to see you’re still around! At first I read that you put a small “slide” on Grub’s bed, which totally cracked me up. When I took a second look, I see it’s actually a SIDE. Yes, much safer, but not nearly as funny!
    .-= HeatherPride´s last blog ..The Birds and the Bees and the…..Kotex Rocket Launchers? =-.

  6. Hooray! You are back.x

