RSS Feed

Eleven is an off-beat

Posted on

I can’t believe it’s been ten days since I last blogged. I am a bad, bad blogger.

I have been spending waaaaaaaaaaay too much time hunting for tiny purple nappy icons. A slightly pointless but addicitve endeavour. I am pretty much done now so can resume my normal life again.

The worst part is that not only have I been a bad blogger but I have been a bad Mum as well.

It was Poss’ birthday on Saturday. I did NOT create a birthday post for her like I have the other children. I am a bad and heartless mother.

She had a lovely day and was showered with many a gift and sugar-laden treat.

*******************************************

I’m sorry that I did not get to write your birthday post darling Poss.

Now you are eleven.

At eleven you stand on the very cusp of adolescence, the beginning of womanhood…. Almost.

You are still my girl child – loving and open and filled with a unique creativity. Gentle and easy-going, with an imagination that amazes me.

More and more now though, you are showing us new facets -tempestuous, strong-willed, dancing to the beat that only you can hear. You and I have begun to come at each other from odd angles. Never quite seeing eye to eye.

I take a good deal of cheer from the fact that nobody will be able to tell you what to do. I take somewhat less pleasure in the fact that this includes me!

I have faith, darling, sweet girl, that we will find a harmony between us again, that we will find a rhythm that allows both of us to dance with abandon. Until we find that together again, I think I will just have to be content to allow you to dance alone….

But I will be watching.

Love you Poss.

xxxxxxxxx

5 responses

  1. Ten days! Good heavens, that’s outrageous! :D

    Happy belated birthday, Poss!
    .-= tinsenpup´s last blog ..Of Childhood Nightmares, Blood and Psychic Dead Kittens =-.

  2. Happy belated birthday to your Poss. I’m sure you will find your harmony again, you two! Like you said, she’s just working out how her part goes.
    .-= Stomper Girl´s last blog ..Royal Melbourne Show 2009 =-.

  3. Happy birthday Poss and welcome back Ali!
    .-= del´s last blog ..Change of Plans =-.

  4. Happy Belated Birthday Poss!
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..Washed away =-.

  5. Ain’t it crazy how time flies? Life just passes one day into the next and then you realize weeks have passed.

    Happy Birthday Poss!
    .-= Hyphen Mama´s last blog ..Finding Zen…. =-.

