RSS Feed

Sometimes your day turns out better than you thought it would and that's good because you thought it was gonna suck worse than anything you have experienced thus far and that might just have been the final straw

Posted on

You are not going to believe this.

I woke up yesterday morning unable to move my head. I can’t remember if this has happened since I have had this blog but occasionally, for about the last six years, I wake up unable to move my head with my neck muscles in awful, terribly painful spasm. It sometimes happens once a year, sometimes several times. It is excruciatingly painful but it is just one of the lovely gifts I get for being the proud owner of my body.

It was even better to wake up like this and find that it was a public holiday. We were forced to call a doctor to come to the house so that I could get some pain relief.

Today I attended the physio to get some help in dismantling the almighty muscle spasms that are making movement almost impossible. This is good. The physio was very helpful, I know that his help is really important. Still I was feeling pretty low.

I was considering taking a couple of days off of breastfeeding Grub so that I could take some serious drugs, including muscle relaxants, which are a huge help in this situation. I was feeling just too overwhelmed by the pain.

Next stop the doctors to get a proper prescription for pain-relief. Today, however, I was not able to see my regular doctor.

Today I saw a doctor who actually examined me and checked a number of things properly.

Today I saw a doctor who was shocked that it has been suggested to me that another year of “just waiting” to see if I get better, all the while taking this pain medication, is perfectly acceptable.

I saw a doctor who told me that it is not right that I am suffering like this. That this is not IN ANY WAY normal*. That we should investigate.That there may be something underlying many of my musculoskeletal problems.

I saw a doctor who has recommended a battery of tests including x-rays and blood tests.

She took my pain seriously. She believes that, even if we don’t find a solution in the first round of tests, I should still probably see a rheumatologist who may have even more ideas as to what is up with my bod.

I feel elated. The names of some scary sounding medical conditions were thrown around. That should be a bad thing but I was almost brought to tears with relief.

Instead of being told just to “manage it” and that “it should get better in time” someone wants to take a real look at what’s going on. At the whole picture.

There is no guarantee of a solution but knowing that someone is willing to look for one is the most empowering feeling.

I am in agony but filled with hope.

*Sounds obvious but when no health professional will acknowledge just how out-of-order it is, it’s a huge relief to have someone say this.

8 responses

  1. Oh Wow! I’m SO thrilled that the new doc is going to thoroughly investigate this! It’s ridiculous that you’ve been fobbed off for so long.

    And I’m so sorry about your neck! I woke up on Saturday with exactly the same thing. AGONY. My neck and shoulder usually go into spasm once or twice a year, always when I’m stressed.

    I can remember having this while breastfeeding… and the worst part (yes, even worse than not being able to take the “good” drugs) was that I couldn’t lean my head forward at all to make eye contact while feeding. Agony.

    Luckily I have been able to take the good drugs, and although it’s still pretty sore (make that agonising) I’m on the mend.

    Hope you are too. SOON. xoxoxoxo
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..As much as I have LOVED blogspot…. =-.

  2. That’s wonderful! And exactly why I drive almost an hour each way to see our doctor – when you find a good one, you don’t give them up! And I’m so sorry about your neck, I know that kind of pain affects everything you can do – I had a chronic neck spasm when I was nursing Bad, something about having a huge boy sleeping on my arm for 2 years? and it affected every aspect of my day when it was acting up. I really hope this new doctor can help you make some progress. Hugs.
    .-= badness jones´s last blog ..Ugh. =-.

  3. Every time I’ve read about your pelvic pain and that diagnosis of wait and see if it improves I’ve thought *that’s not right*. So glad this GP is going in to bat for you and I hope you find a solution.
    .-= Stomper Girl´s last blog ..The Festival of Cherub. =-.

  4. Great that your bad news, ie something is definitely wrong, is actually good news in disguise! Does that make sense? Hmm, no, but what I mean to say is that its great news that a Dr is finally taking your pain seriously, even though you had to see someone new to finally get the attention you need. I really hope this means a plan of action. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to live with chronic pain, especially with children.
    .-= Sarah´s last blog ..Amy shares her marshmallows with Gogga =-.

  5. Dude. I know exactly how you feel right now. It isn’t normal and it should be checked out and hopefully managed.

    Ask them to check you for everything. Tell the doctor about dislocating your wrist for no reason. That also isn’t normal.

    Love and hugs from me.
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..Can I freak out yet? What about now? Later? Shit. =-.

  6. Oh honey. That’s such good news and no it doesn’t sound stupid because I have only just found a doctor like that after years and years and it just makes you feel better inside to know that finally someone is listening to you and taking what you say seriously.
    Fantastic.xx

  7. Ooh, that’s excellent! I’m so pleased someone’s finally going to do something for you.
    .-= bevchen´s last blog ..Vee are very sorry for ze late =-.

  8. It makes all the difference to be heard, doesn’t it? How lucky that you weren’t able to see your regular doctor this time! Makes me think that everything needs a 2nd, 3rd and 4th opinion!! I hope you get the answers you need.
    .-= Hyphen Mama´s last blog ..Does anybody else smell that? What is that smell? =-.

