RSS Feed

Happy blog birthday to meeeeeee!

Posted on

One day,  I was reading a forum about a topic that was of interest to me at the time but now is not.

One of the other members of the forum happened to advertise their personal blog in a forum post.

I clicked over for a look.

It only took that one personal blog for me to become hooked. It was fantastic!

I have always been a bit of a people watcher. I’m the person who loves all of those dreadful reality shows that people complain about. Reading people’s personal musings amounted to the ultimate in voyeurism.

Pretty soon I was cruising for more blogs to read. It was actually quite difficult to find blogs at first, I didn’t know where to look. Eventually I stumbled across a blog that I liked to read and OHMYGOD they had this thing called a “blogroll”. How convenient! A list of other blogs to lurk around and to read. More blogs than one girl could ever need!

At first I was just remembering the names of the blogs I liked and checking back on a regular basis for new posts. Sometimes I would check several times in one day. Googling the blog names so that I could find them. Pretty soon  I had bookmarked several of my favourite blogs and I’ll admit, it was only a small step from there to a feedreader bulging with subscriptions. I was completely dominated by my addiction. Spending hours each day reading blogs.

It was about this time that I found I sometimes had something I wanted to say to the writer of the blog I was reading. One of those days, my need to make a comment won out against my shyness and need for anonymity. I could interact with people in this “blogosphere”. It only deepened my addiction.

Finally matters came to a head. Beefcake had noticed the obsession that had seized me. He knew he had to do something to help me. I think he considered holding an intervention but instead he chose to tease me. To goad me.

“You should start your own blog” he said, “It’d be fun”

“Naaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh, I’d be too embarassed” I would cry, “Anyway, who would want to read anything I have to say, it would be boring as shit.”

We went on like this for some time before I finally realised that I didn’t care if anybody read it. I realised that nobody would find it unless I wanted them to anyway.

So, on this day, one year ago, I wrote my first blog post.

I have been subjecting the world to my poorly thought out, incoherent ramblings ever since.

My blog really is as boring as shit and I am quite embarrassed by much of it.

BUT

My little blog has given me so much. I have made friends all over the world and close to home that I never would have made without it. It has become such a valuable support for me.

I know I am  lucky to have my blog and all of my wonderful bloggy friends.

Happy blogaversary to me!

9 responses

  1. You’re kidding me? Only a year?

    But Ali I feel like I’ve known you FOREVER!! (in a really really good way!)

    HAPPY BLOGAVERSARY TO YOU!!

    I, for one, am so happy that you decided to join the bloggy crowd.

    MWAH
    xoxoxo
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..Proud Mama… =-.

  2. Happy Blogoversary!

    I started out in much the same way you did. MiscMum was the first blog outside of Myspace that I read (Lotus and her friends were the first blogs I ever read inside Myspace.)
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..Writing from a corner, where I’ve hidden. =-.

  3. OHMYGOD, your post reminded me that I started blogging in October and sure enough, I missed my own three year blogiversary this week! Congrats on your blogabirthday!
    .-= Sarah´s last blog ..Talking about one of my favourite things – FOOD! =-.

  4. Happy Blogaversary to youuuuuu!
    I’m so glad you did decide to start a blog.
    .-= bevchen´s last blog ..Why universe, why? =-.

  5. I always wish I’d have found blogging earlier… think of all the hours I could have wasted for years before! Happy Blogaversary!
    .-= Hyphen Mama´s last blog ..Does anybody else smell that? What is that smell? =-.

  6. Veronica talked me into starting my blog. At first I didn’t tell anyone. My non-blogger friends that I eventually told thought I was nuts. They warned me about the dangers of playing on the internet, all the baddies that would steal my identity etc etc (hehehe) Luckily I never listen to well meaning advice and I have gained so much from blogging.

    Happy Blogoversary :)
    .-= Kim (frogpondsrock)´s last blog ..Dairy farmers ask Tasmanians to boycott Pura milk. =-.

  7. Damn, my reader crashed and I almost didn’t see this momentous post – Happy Blogaversary! I am glad you ventured into the world of blog.
    .-= del´s last blog ..Weekly Winners #4 =-.

  8. Happy blog birthday! I’m glad that you were duly goaded into blogging. The blogosphere needs more people willing to write about their pelvises.
    .-= alejna´s last blog ..Spanish toast =-.

  9. Happy Birthday (of sorts!).

    I am so glad you started blogging, I think you’re awesome :)
    .-= Lara´s last blog ..I am special after all! =-.

