RSS Feed

Up on my horse, it's not really high, it's more of a mid-size horse actually

Posted on

Did you know that in South Australia, and probably in other Australian states as well, that it is illegal for a couple without “fertility issues” to receive reproductive assistance?

I didn’t.

I guess I had never thought about it before.

We had lunch with our friends yesterday and they were sharing with us some things that have been happening recently when we came to this.

If a doctor provides reproductive assistance to a same sex couple in South Australia they are breaking the law unless there is some demonstrated fertility problem.

That, my friends, is discrimination, pure and simple.

Some poor deluded soul had the nerve to say that it’s not discriminatory because any hetero couple who sought reproductive assistance would also be required to have a medical fertility issue. Ummmmm, hetero coouples without fertility issues DO NOT NEED reproductive assistance!

Makes me furious.

And ashamed.

I’m ashamed that I never knew this law existed and I am ashamed that it exists in the first place.

That’s all I have to say really.

5 responses

  1. I did not know that. And, like you, I am APPALLED! Especially in a state that used to be Premiered by Don Dunstan!
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..The Ups and the Downs… =-.

  2. That is a horrible law and ought to be changed.
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..On words, or the lack thereof =-.

  3. There’s a lot of stupid laws out there, most of them written way back in the dark ages and never repealed. The entire system needs a complete overhaul or at least some serious upgrading.

  4. Wow. You’re so right that it’s discrimination. Here’s hoping that law gets changed soon.
    .-= alejna´s last blog ..11:11 on 11/11 =-.

  5. I think that the laws must be similar in Victoria. I have friends who have had to spend a lot of time (and more money) travelling to NSW in order to be able to have their two beautiful children.
    .-= Em´s last blog ..Human Rights Day 2009 =-.

