RSS Feed

Pudding is at Kindy, Grub is sleeping. I should be doing housework but I am blogging. A good housewife I am not.

Posted on

So obviously pageant went well. Given that my lovely, reasonforliving iphone and the family digital camera were killed in the pursuit of Christmas slappers and bagpipe marching bands.

Obviously there are no photos, well actually, Beefy did take some on his phone for me but I have not gotten around to uploading them and quite frankly they are much the same as last year’s.

It was almost unbearably hot. We were very lucky really. We began by hovering at the back of the crowd right at the parade kick-off point. We made it just in time to witness the blowing of the whistle and there must be something a little wrong with me as I was overcome with nostalgic emotion, I still remember taking the big kids to Pageant when they were quite small and they are so big now it seems almost unbelievable. Anyway, we sweltered in the full glare of the headingto39degrees sun for a few minutes by which time we all needed to take a break. We retreated to the shade provided by the portico of a large office building and … There we stayed.

Once we were there we realised that it afforded us a pretty good view and there was no risk of sun stroke. A no-brainer really. We lifted the kids up when the Big Guy came past and Pudding was so thrilled when Father Christmas waved in our direction. I felt crushingly guilty that we were filling his little mind full of Father Christmas propganda, something I am ideologically opposed to. In practice I get caught up in the “magic” of it all and can’t resist spinning the tale for them. Terrible.

All in all Pageant was worth it, despite the heat. The walk wasn’t too bad and I feel like it’s such a special thing to give to my kids. I spent most of my childhood in Melbourne, although my extended family were all in SA. I always felt not quite Victorian and not quite South Australian and I guess I feel that sharing these intrinsically South Australian things with our kids will provide them with a more solid sense of identity. Maybe, or something.

It was not worth losing my iphone though. The camera has recovered from it’s dunking, probably because it was in it’s nice padded case and my poor wee phone was nude.

*Sob*

There is hope, however. Apparently Apple will replace a water damaged iphone under warranty for about $260 including postage and all. So, we can’t quite do that for a couple of weeks due to the state of our finances but fingers crossed in a couple of weeks I will be able to hold the that gorgeous piece of electronics in my hand once again. Seriously, I feel like I have lost a limb!

7 responses

  1. I read in the Sunday Mail the pavement temperature was 56 degrees and immediately felt sorry for all those little kids sitting at the edge of the road, feeling all the heat coming up off the bitumen.

  2. I know it doesn’t help you, but you have helped me – my iPhone must never be naked, just in case. I hope the finances work themselves out so your baby can be returned to you soon.
    .-= del´s last blog ..Growing Old =-.

  3. I love the idea of identifying with our state. I don’t think I’ve ever felt much like a new south welsh-woman! Mind you, we don’t have very many events specific to our neck of the woods only.

    Glad you survived the heatwave!

    And I really feel for you on the iPhone front. I accidentaly “bricked” mine (that’s what you have now, an iBrick) and had to wait over a year to get another one.

    It was worth the wait, of course.
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..Sneak peak… =-.

  4. Pageant sounds fun – we had our Santa Claus Parade yesterday too, and it was wonderful. We always watched it on tv as kids, but Mark and I started going to see it when we were dating, and watching the kids’ faces light up each year is totally worth the hassle of getting downtown and waiting for hours. It was so warm this year (15C, so I guess these things are relative!) that the wait wasn’t bad at all, the kids coloured with sidewalk chalk and ran in the road (after it was closed, of course!) and had a fabulous time.
    .-= badness jones´s last blog ..Farewell, sweet smile. =-.

  5. so sorry to hear about your phone, and the heat. Here we have the opposite problem. If it keeps raining like this we will be underwater. I think you were very, very good in not killing the children re the phone. You have my utmost admiration.x

  6. Pageant sounds like fun–I’d never even heard of it. I enjoyed looking at your pictures from last year.

    Sorry about the phone. Who knew that a bottle of water could be fatal?
    .-= alejna´s last blog ..a chance for pants =-.

  7. Terrible. Having coveted the iPhone for years, I can definitely imagine that it is better to have never loved at all than loved and lost.

    I hope you get her back soon.

    Sniff.
    .-= Lara´s last blog ..There is some good news =-.

