RSS Feed

So…………..Did you know I'm an idiot?

Posted on

Oh gawd. How embarrassing. I mean initially, it certainly looked as though I had the pox.

The thing is, I’m really quite doctor-phobic. I mean, I have to be really suffering to head to the doctor. I was content to convince myself that it was chicken pox. Until yesterday.

Yesterday the sores began to kind of grow and look weird. They were weepy beyond the length of time that Dr Google said they would be. They no longer looked as though they were healing and it just felt wrong. I told Beefcake that I no longer thought it was chicken pox. He didn’t agree. Dr google couldn’t tell us.

The only other candidate seemed to be impetigo. Very similar symptoms initially, similar description but the images that Dr Google provided didn’t match. AT ALL. Really.

This morning the symptoms were worse. Instead of healing the sores seemed to be growing. Consistent with the dreaded impetigo. I got up in a panic. I yelled at Beefy and told him that I was convinced bacteria was eating my face off even if it didn’t look like anything on google images. He wasn’t convinced but took me off to the doctor anyway.

As an aside, have you ever tried to hide ugly face sores with your hair in a room full of strangers without looking like a complete loon? I tried a magazine for a while but it wasn’t exactly natural to be holding it high in front of my face and turning it with me each time I turned to speak with Beefy.

The doctor confirmed what I had already guessed. Impetigo it is. Go on Google it, and give yourself a treat

I earned myself both antibiotic ointment and a course of oral antibiotics.

I don’t think it helped that I seem to have been fighting off Pudding’s chesty lurgy as well as a bout of gastro and one or the other of these have caused breathing problems, extreme dizzyness and a temperature.

It still doesn’t look like any of the pictures on the internet.

It looks pretty bloody awful though.

This is the most embarrassing blog post I have ever had to write.

Instead of some viral illness I am covered in festy bacteria. I disgust myself.

So, there you have it. This is me, admitting that I am a moron, again.

The end.

12 responses

  1. It will be okay and you will get better. Remember that they’re highly contagious. I know a lady that had some success with the antibiotic ointment and then gauze coverings over it. Although, if it’s on your face the gauze covering is a little difficult…

    Sorry.
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..Busy! =-.

  2. Poor you, I don’t think you are a moron, just infectious! Its an excuse to quarantine yourself away with a good book and a supply of comfort snacks!

  3. You could have posted a picture. On second thoughts, no. Here’s to a quick recovery.

  4. Oh no! You’re not a moron. I hope you’re all better soon.
    .-= Leslie´s last blog ..Great Grandma Goes Home =-.

  5. Well, at least now you know. Hope the antibiotics work soon, since it is so highly contagious. I remember epidemics (almost) of this when I was in primary school, the common term for it is “school sores”, all kids who broke out with it were excluded from school until they were clear. In later years when it wasn’t so common, kids were allowed to stay at school, but all sores had to be covered with a bandaid.

  6. You are not an idiot.

    Dr Google has been very good to me.

    Seeing my doctor is incompetent.

    Make sure you keep up those antibiotics babe.

  7. That doesn’t look like much fun at all. I hope you have a great stash of hibernation reading, plenty of snacks and that the drugs kick in and clear you up quickly.
    .-= del´s last blog ..Injury Update and What to Wear =-.

  8. Poor honey, you’re totally not an idiot. Your photo certainly looked poxy to me. I hope all the meds kick in right away.
    .-= badness jones´s last blog ..Ring Ring! =-.

  9. Oh Ali! You poor poor thing! I hope it clears up quickly without scarring. xoxox
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..Wow… =-.

  10. You looked poxy. We all concurred. I feel your shame. It’s awful isn’t it? When the children gave me headlice I nearly went into meltdown.
    All will be well and all manner of things will be well and at least you will start to get better now.
    xxx

  11. Poor you. I remember my little sister getting impetigo, I always thought it sounded a lot like “tiger”. Hope the antibiotics are doing their stuff and you face is clearing nicely.
    .-= Stomper Girl´s last blog ..I Can’t Believe it’s Nearly CHRISTMAS!!! =-.

  12. oh you poor thing. I recommend lots of chocolate.
    .-= frogponsdrock´s last blog ..A candle for Mum. =-.

