RSS Feed

Little bugger

Posted on

Today Rhubarb forgot his bus ticket. He requires this ticket to take the bus from school to the city for after school rowing training. He texted us to let us know that he needed the bus ticket and we drove to the school to give it to him.

When he called I let him know that he would have to leave training promptly as we have Poss’ end of school year celebration concert tonight. He begged to be able to go to a friend’s house post-training and I agreed because having to attend a school social event with a teen who resents being there is even worse than having to attend said event in the first place.

When we got to the school he and a friend were waiting and Beefcake blurted out that, as it is the last week of school and rowing season is over until February, he didn’t have to go.

He was thrilled. I voiced my objections but was overruled.

There did seem to be a lot of sniggering from Rhubarb and his friend but they always seem to be sniggering or giggling or muttering so I didn’t worry too much about it.

So, we were not expecting to see Rhu until after the school concert tonight but at about 3:30 he strolls in the door.

“Oh, I caught the bus and then walked from D street” he says nonchalantly “Suchandsuch wasn’t home so we all decided to forget about it”.

Then he makes his first mistake. He volunteers a bunch of details about how his day went. Now, anyone with a teen or something even close will know that you’re lucky to get monosyllabic grunts (let alone voluntary details) straight after they get home from school.

Then Beefcake pointed out to him that he must have left school early to make it home by 3:30, D street is at least a 25 minute walk away.

At first there were denials. This was his downfall really. He’s always been a terrible liar. It’s clear for all to see, if you know our boy, when he is telling a whopper.

So I straight out asked him.

“You left school straight after we saw you, didn’t you? You wagged school!”

More denials but only briefly. He knew the game was up.

He and two other friends wagged half the day.

His perspective is that as it’s the last week it doesn’t matter. From an academic point of view he has a point. They are only doing fun activities all week. The school has informed us of this. Fine. From a moral point of view I am really peeved. I don’t agree with wagging school. I NEVER did it *snigger*.

I guess I am just shocked, he’s not yet fourteen.

So, internetz, what would you do?

I am leaning towards ringing the parents of the kids involved.

Beefcake is leaning towards ringing the school as well.

Rhubarb is leaning towards us handling the matter internally, afraid of what his mates will say if we dob them in.

What should we do? This parenting gig is HARD, seriously.

7 responses

  1. Ouch, that really is a hard one. I’d like to think that I wouldn’t lose my cool. As this is a first demeanour I would probably just talk through the consequences with Rhubarb and letting him know that if it happens again you will have to talk to the other parents. This is based on my experience as a teen where we really only had 2 rules, 1) leave a note on the table saying where I was going (and be there) and 2) if I stuff up tell mum and dad before the neighbours did. It meant that there was some communication happening. Of course this philosophy is easy to spout not having had to live through it as a parent!
    That is my 2 cents worth. Good luck.
    .-= del´s last blog ..Weekly Winners #10 – Bike Riding =-.

  2. Oh god. UM.

    I’d probably ring parents and the school. Give Rhubarb the ‘out’ to tell his mates that you caught him, not that he confessed after being caught.
    .-= Veronica´s last blog ..The Wedding =-.

  3. I’ve got no advice but I think it’s a good thing that he’s such a hopeless liar!
    .-= Stomper Girl´s last blog ..Wobbly =-.

  4. Well.. *ahem*… as someone who DID wag school… I would tell the other parents AND the school.

    I was busted by a family friend, who rang mum to let her know that she had seen me on the street in plain clothes and to ask why was I not in school.

    That didn’t stop me.

    Mum rang my friend who I ‘fessed up was with me. That just made us more careful.

    I was busted by the teachers in the staff room who were watching the Australian Open (LOOOONG time ago when it used to be in White City in Edgcliffe) on the telly and saw my friend and i in the crowd.

    *gulp*.

    I never ever did it again.

    I could handle my parents knowing that I had broken the rules, but I just couldn’t handle letting down my school.

    PS. Boo cannot lie to save his life. A bit like me.

    Toto can lie SO convincingly that it terrifies me. Luckily he doesn’t do it very often, and seems to still believe that I can tell when he is lying. I’m dreading what’s going to happen when he flexes the boundaries. He’s a bit of a goody-goody though. He’ll probably not do anything as adventurous as wagging school.

    Boo, on the other hand….

    xxoxox
    .-= Fe´s last blog ..Should I send this? =-.

  5. I’d be telling the school and the parents but mine isn’t a teenager yet. There’s got to be a consequence I reckon.

  6. I’d probably go with telling the school. I’m not sure about the other parents though. I don’t know. That’s really tough, but I think you’re right not to just leave it within the family. Too much temptation to do it again. Me, I spent most of sixth form in the tea room down the road and the town library. I assume my kids will be better behaved than I was. Clearly I am deluded.
    Good luck. xx

  7. I’d say ring the school and insist he goes for the remainder of the week. I wouldn’t ring any of the other parents unless it happens again. Hopefully it doesn’t. Bad habits and all that….

