RSS Feed

I think this means I’m blogging again

Posted on

Well, where to start. It was a hard thing, to take down my other blog, but then again, I had dropped out of blogging completely so there was not a lot to be gained by throwing money at hosting fees every month.

At the time I didn’t know if I would start a new blog or just let it die. I’m not ready for a big commitment. I need to take it slow but I miss all of my friends very much and I figured I might as well give it a burl.

In the interest of some sort of continuity, here are some things that have happened since I was last blogging:

Arthritis bad, bad, bad. It took a very long time to find the correct combination of toxic chemicals to stop my immune system from attacking me constantly. That little struggle just sucked the life out of me for a time. I literally could not muster up the energy to make a blog post. I didn’t even read other people’s blogs really. I just…. stopped. It didn’t help that I also pretty much stopped speaking to everyone in real life. I was caught in a loop of isolation and anxiety that just kept dragging at me. It felt as though communicating with others (outside of my immediate family) might make me shatter into little pieces.

 

I had a pretty scary health scare. Former readers will know that I have struggled with my bastard of a pelvis for some time. In the course of investigations as to what the flipping hell is wrong with it we discovered two things.

1- There appears to be nothing wrong with the pelvis, it has recovered from the problems it did have. There are some bulgey discs in my lower spine that are likely causing the continuing pain.

2- There was a largish cyst on my right ovary. Not unusual for me as I have PCOS, however the MRI report did me the delightful favour of labelling the cyst “suspicious”. Mmmm, stressful.

Cue months of trying to get in to see a gynae. Seeing one and having him be an utter misogynist – I mean the man actually said “So you’ve got a cyst, what do you want me to do about it?” before telling me that I needed a hysterectomy and if I agreed to one he would operate within 3 months instead of having me wait 12 months to have my cyst dealt with.

He’s lucky he made it out of the appointment alive.

I finally ended up in so much pain from it that I ended up in the ER at the women’s hospital.

They admitted me immediately and operated the next day. Funny that.

I found out today (7wks post surgery) that the cyst was about twice the size that an ultrasound the day of surgery had indicated. I was also told today that I was very lucky that it was dealt with at that time. It could have been very bad. It was very large.

It was also benign!  Although I was pretty sure that it was, I couldn’t help worrying about it just a tiny smidge. Phew.

About  a week and a half ago I began my very first major arthritis flare. I am in the midst of a pretty awful time. The rheum has put me on a short course of steroids to try and bring my unruly body back into line but that only began yesterday so I am still a bit of a mess unfortunately. I had been so well that I had completely forgotten how horrible this thing can be, although to be honest I don’t think it’s ever been this bad before. Bastard.

My darling boy Skunky (formerly Pudding) started school. Just the one lonely kidlet at home now. How sad. He loves school very much and it makes me both swell with pride and have to stifle a tear to think of how grown up he is.

There are many more things that have happened of course, but if I am going to keep on with this thing I think I need to reserve some material.

4 responses

  1. Oh my god. You are back. We have missed you too. Well, I have missed you. I am so sorry you have had a rubbish time, and I am so happy that you are blogging again. Huzzah and very gentle hugs to you lady.xx

  2. Welcome back! I’m so glad you’re here.

    I’m not in the least surprised by your horrible experience with that doctor. It doesn’t make me any less enraged about it though. What a dispicable creature. Just yesterday a friend was telling me about a baby my daughter’s age being subjected to a bowel biopsy under general anesthetic to diagnose celiac disease. WTF? A blood test and/or an elimination diet would have been perfectly adequate diagnostic tools. I’m taking deep breaths. I’m fast becoming that person people back away from at social gatherings.

    I’m sorry you’re in so much pain too.

  3. oh, that’s why it doesn’t show up in my feedreader…it’s a different blog. I’m glad to see you back too. Sorry to hear all that’s been going on though. But yay for the word benign. I love that word.

  4. Welcome back. I have missed you.

