RSS Feed

You might not want to read this post, it’s upsetting, sorry, but I needed to write it.

Posted on

Today I learned that you can be walking along the street, minding your own business, waiting to be picked up by your husband and suddenly be caught up in an emergency situation that you really, really weren’t prepared for.

Today I learned that I am not too bad in an emergency situation.

That I can keep my head and call 000 while being just a tiny bit freaked out.

I learned that even though a car door can be open for some time, and you’re sure the road is clear, a cyclist might appear out of nowhere having not see it.

That even when you are wearing a helmet, the impact of striking a car door with your bike and, the way that you hit the road afterwards could potentially end your life. Instantly.

That I can detach myself from seeing things that I can’t bear to see and just do what needs to be done.

That sometimes very lucky things happen, like a private ambulance driving by and stopping just moments after an accident.

Today I learned that time seems to drag in a sitatuion like this. Where is that other ambulance? It’s taking so long.

That it’s possible to resuscitate someone after they have not been breathing for what seems a very, very long time.

That it is such a relief when all of the ambulances and the police (and even the firies) arrive and you can give your statement and you don’t have to stand there waiting, not wanting to watch, any longer.

I didn’t want to learn any of these things today. I was just going home after a doctors appointment. I don’t even have any way of finding out if the cyclist will be okay.

I don’t know whether it’s possible for someone to be okay after something this serious.

I doubt it.

Life is a fragile, fragile thing.

8 responses

  1. and I send my love to you xox

  2. Oh crap. I hope that they’re okay and I hope you are too. xxx

  3. I am sorry that you had to see that. I hope that they are ok and that you are ok too.
    xo

  4. Sending love. You are
    Amazing.

  5. that’s awful, just awful
    if you want help to find out if they’re okay maybe we could do it…I’ll help you if you need it. I do hope they are okay, and that you are too. xx

  6. Yuk yuk yuk. Not a good way to find out how you react in these situations. Hope that cyclist is ok.

  7. That’s just horrible. Our grip on life can seem so tenuous at times, can’t it?

  8. oh dear. I am so sorry to hear that you had to go through that. Much love.x

